Invisible People

Invisible People

Graphic Novel - 2007
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
In the tradition of Kafka, Gogol, and Melville, the master of American comic art presents a haunting trio of stories about life's forgotten shut-ins.
Publisher: New York : W.W. Norton, [2007], c1993
ISBN: 9780393328097
0393328090
Branch Call Number: INVISIBL PEOPLE
Characteristics: vii, 111 p. : chiefly ill. ; 26 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Mark_Daly Apr 17, 2014

Eisner trains his eye on the downtrodden of 1930s New York in this trio of stories, originally published in 1993. The first, "Sanctum," is the most plausible, tracking the vertiginous speed with which a mild-mannered laborer becomes a non-person after he's accidentally declared dead in a newspaper obituary. "The Power" (man possesses a miraculous healing power) and "Mortal Combat" (scheming woman feuds with a momma's boy's momma) lead Eisner to indulge his weakness for schmaltz and melodrama. Fans of comics and graphic novels should pick up an Eisner book every so often, to be reminded of how greatly he influenced many cartoonists who followed him. This one's as good as any other.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at BPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top