Novels & Stories 1950-1962

Novels & Stories 1950-1962

Book - 2012
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Before winning international fame with Cat's Cradle and Slaughterhouse-Five , Kurt Vonnegut was a master of the drugstore paperback and the popular short story. This authoritative collection of his brilliant early work opens with Player Piano (1952), a Metropolis -like parable of breakneck technological innovation and its effect on those it robs of their livelihoods. The Sirens of Titan (1959), the interplanetary adventures of the world's wealthiest and most despised man, is both a pulp-fiction space opera and a satire on the vanity of human striving. The confessions of a German-American double agent well placed among the Nazi elite, Mother Night (1962) is a cautionary tale with a famous moral: "We are what we pretend to be, so we must be careful about what we pretend to be." Here too are six of Vonnegut's best short stories, gems that display his matchless talent for hilarious invention and caustic social criticism.

A companion volume, Kurt Vonnegut: Novels & Stories 1963-1973 , collects Cat's Cradle ; God Bless You, Mr. Rosewater ; Slaughterhouse-Five ; Breakfast of Champions ; and three short stories, including "Welcometo the Monkey House."

Publisher: New York : Library of America, c2012
ISBN: 9781598531503
Branch Call Number: VONNEGUT K
814.54 V94n
Characteristics: 834 p. ; 21 cm
Additional Contributors: Vonnegut, Kurt
Offit, Sidney


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at BPL

To Top