Count Magnus and Other Ghost Stories

Count Magnus and Other Ghost Stories

The Complete Ghost Stories of M.R. James

Book - 2005
Average Rating:
Rate this:

A collection of classic ghost stories from the visionary master of supernatural fiction

M. R. James referred to by H. P. Lovecraft as 'one of the few really creative masters in his darksome province,' was a pioneer in the history of the English ghost story, transforming the ghost from a wispy, ethereal figure into an aggressive, malevolent, and all too palpable force of evil. The only annotated edition of M. R. James's writings currently available, Count Magnus and Other Ghost Stories is both the culmination of the nineteenth-century ghost story tradition and the inspiration for much of the best twentieth-century work in this genre. Included in this collection are such landmark tales as 'Count Magnus,' set in the wilds of Sweden; 'Casting the Runes,' a richly complex tale of sorcery that served as the basis for the classic horror film Curse of the Demon ; and ' 'Oh, Whistle, and I'll Come to You, My Lad,' ' one of the most frightening tales in literature. The appendix includes several rare texts, including 'A Night in King's College Chapel,' James's first known ghost story.

Edited with an Introduction by S. T. JOSHI

Publisher: New York : Penguin Books, 2005
ISBN: 9780143039396
Branch Call Number: JAMES M
PR6019.A565 A6 2005
Characteristics: xxv, 288 p. ; 20 cm
Additional Contributors: Joshi, S. T. 1958-


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at BPL

To Top