After Julius

After Julius

eBook - 2016
Rate this:
A dead war hero's lingering influence follows his family from World War II-era London to the 1950s English countryside At the height of World War II, while her husband, Julius, was away at the front, Esme, the mother of two young children, fell in love for the first time. Her lover, a poet named Felix, was fourteen years her junior. After Julius was killed during the evacuation from Dunkirk, Esme hoped that she and Felix would marry. Instead, Felix enlisted, and Esme never saw him again. Now, nearly twenty years later, they're about to be reunited. But not in the way Esme imagined. Past and present converge at Esme's country house in Sussex where, during the course of one revelatory weekend, the far-reaching influence of the dead Julius begins to emerge. Narrated in turn by Esme; Felix; Esme's daughters, Cressy and Emma; and Emma's boyfriend, Daniel, the story moves seamlessly from one generation to the next as they all attempt to move on with their lives. In the tradition of Jean Rhys and Rosamond Lehmann, Elizabeth Jane Howard's wit, sensitivity, and unerring powers of observation are on dazzling display in this novel that explores the lingering impact of a heroic action on a soldier's loved ones. With its timeless themes of courage, love, and loss, After Julius is a towering work of fiction from the bestselling author of the Cazalet Chronicles.
Publisher: [United States] : Open Road Media : Made available through hoopla, 2016
ISBN: 9781504035323
1504035321
Branch Call Number: eBook hoopla
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Additional Contributors: hoopla digital

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at BPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top