Pretty Little Liars

Pretty Little Liars

Season 1

eBook - 2012
Rate this:
Pretty Little Liars centers around four teenage friends from an upscale small town in Pennsylvania, who are reunited after another friend disappears. The show debuted on ABC Family TV network on January 23, 2011 with a run of ten episodes. The idea for the series, however, began years before, when the producers at Alloy Entertainment, the company behind The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants and the Gossip Girl series, first conceived of a book they described as Desperate Housewives for teens. To write the series, they hired author Sara Shepard, who grew up in a town much like Rosewood, Pa., where the Pretty Little Liars book series and television series takes place. They wanted to come up with something for her, Farrin Jacobs, an editor at HarperTeen books, told Publishers Weekly. It was a case of the right writer and the right idea at the right time. The first book in the series debuted in 2005 and proved popular. By 2012, the series had expanded to include Flawless, Perfect, Unbelievable, Wicked, Killer, Heartless, Wanted, Twisted, Ruthless, and Stunning. Shepard plans to write 12 books in all. It's a careful dance between giving readers something with each book, but also keeping them wanting to find out what happens next, said Jacobs of the books. They love the guessing game.
Publisher: [United States] : Hyperink : Made available through hoopla, 2012
ISBN: 9781614641711
Branch Call Number: eBook hoopla
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Additional Contributors: hoopla digital


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further


Subject Headings


Find it at BPL

To Top