The Dragons of Expectation

The Dragons of Expectation

Reality and Delusion in the Course of History

Book - 2005
Average Rating:
Rate this:
1
The publication of The Dragons of Expectation in 2005 reaffirmed Robert Conquest's stature as a leading intellectual and one of the world's great humanists. In the tradition of Isaiah Berlin's The Crooked Timber of Humanity and George Orwell's Essays, this book brilliantly traces how seductive ideas have come to corrupt modern minds; to often disastrous effects. In what Publishers Weekly called "a frontal assault on the pieties of the left," Conquest masterfully examines how false nostrums have infected academia, politicians, and the public, showing how their reliance on "isms" and the destructive concepts of "People, Nation, and Masses" have resulted in a ruinous cycle of turbulence and war. Including fresh analyses of Russia's October Revolution, World War II, and the Cold War, The Dragons of Expectation is one of the most important contributions to modern thought in recent years.
Publisher: New York : W.W. Norton & Co., c2005
Edition: 1st ed
ISBN: 9780393059335
0393059332
Branch Call Number: HN13 .C6445 2005
309.09 C753d
Characteristics: xv, 256 p. ; 25 cm

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
a
alitecky
Oct 23, 2020

The the die-hard history buff, specifically US/Soviet relations.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at BPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top